This would be the Monday morning debate on the water cooler: Have been the Dallas Cowboys robbed by the referees?
Regardless of which facet of the aisle you fall on, it’s evident the Cowboys had been getting ready to tie the sport, or maybe win it, within the closing moments of Sunday night time’s 20-17 defeat to the Los Angeles Rams.
As a refresher, Dallas was trailing by three with the ball at their very own 34-yard line and 31 seconds left within the fourth quarter. On third-and-10, quarterback Dak Prescott uncorked a perfectly-placed deep shot to broad receiver Michael Gallup, who secured the 47-yard gainer, beating protection from Professional Bowl cornerback Jalen Ramsey.
“Its 1-on-1. Michael Gallup is a man I belief each time, particularly in a deep ball scenario,” Prescott advised reporters after the sport. “I simply put it on the market and tried to let him go up below it. From my viewpoint I can’t see something.”
Then laundry hit the SoFi Stadium turf. Cross interference, offense, No. 13. Didn’t depend. By no means occurred.
The sport-changing OPI name on Michael Gallup that negated a MASSIVE pickup pic.twitter.com/MjqBh4KNer
— Tom Downey (@WhatGoingDowney) September 14, 2020
There wasn’t a lot interfering, although. Replay (seen above) confirmed the gamers innocuously jockeying for place, with Gallup subtly initiating contact in opposition to Ramsey. Emphasis on “delicate”; it wasn’t sufficient to resolve the result of a one-possession recreation in crunch time. And since PI is now not challengable, the Cowboys had been pressured to reside with the consequence — 0-1, a bitter loss to start an intensely-hyped marketing campaign.
Which left debuting head coach Mike McCarthy shellshocked.
“Simply watching it reside it seemed like two guys hand-fighting,” McCarthy advised reporters. “I believed it was properly executed. I used to be shocked there was a name there. We’re very, clearly, upset within the name, specific at that time within the recreation. I believed they let each groups play tonight. You simply don’t normally see that, notably in a important level within the recreation.”
And rookie receiver CeeDee Lamb in disbelief.
“I didn’t agree with the decision,” Lamb stated.
However not Ramsey, who defined that Gallup “clear as day” dedicated an infraction and was appropriately penalized for it.
“He prolonged his full arm so it was clear as day,” he stated after the sport. “In the event that they didn’t name that I’d have been extremely upset. That was clear as day in my view. I don’t know what y’all noticed however that’s what I noticed and felt on the market.”
Comply with the Heavy on Cowboys Fb web page for the newest breaking information, rumors and content material!
Corrente Defends Name
Tony Corrente, head zebra who introduced the penalty, veered towards Ramsey’s line of pondering. If this wasn’t made apparent by upholding the flag, Corrente doubled down in his post-game remarks to pool reporter Clarence Hill of the Fort Value Star-Telegram.
“I can let you know it was clear and apparent on the sphere, of a hand into the opposing participant. A full arm extension that created separation,” Corrente advised Hill, through ESPN. “In all conditions that might be referred to as. We’re not going to permit that at any time of the sport.”
READ NEXT: Cowboys Affirm Severe Damage to LB Leighton Vander Esch
Comply with Zack Kelberman on Twitter: @KelbermanNFL